Sign up to our newsletter

Blog

Estate Agent Spotlight August 2015

Tuesday, August 4th, 2015

AllenEstatesLogo (2014_12_11 08_26_09 UTC)

 

Russell 1 (2)

What is your name?

Russell Davis.

How long have you worked in estate agency?

17 years.

What is the name of your agency?

Allen Estates.

How long have you worked for your current employer?

Nine years in total.

What is your job title?

Senior Branch Manager.

What does a typical day in the life of you look like?..

I could be doing anything! From sales and rental valuations, working on our social media, running the morning meeting, canvassing, to dealing with a broken down vehicle within the company fleet. I have many hats that I switch between.

What do you love about your job?

I love how diverse the job is. You could be doing anything from visiting a young couple who are looking to start a family and upscale and need a flat evaluation, to selling a big family home. I love helping people sell their property and developing the working relationship over four or five months to the point of completion. It’s very rewarding. Every day is different and I always get to meet new people and learn something new.

What do you dislike about your job?

The hours can be long and it is quite punishing when you work 60-65 hour weeks. The other part would be when a vendor or purchaser pulls out of the sale at the last minute. Having to tell someone they’ve lost the property they’ve wanted for a long time can be hard.

Best thing about the area you work in?

Witham has fantastic transport links. We have direct train links to London’s Liverpool street station. We also have excellent road links with direct access to the A12 North & South bound  as well as easy access to Stanstead Airport. We have very good schools and recently, our primary and secondary schools have scored excellent standards.

What would you love to be doing in a different life?

I would be a skiing instructor in the Winter, probably in Canada. Then in the summer I would be a scuba diving instructor in Thailand or the Caribbean.

How do you spend your time outside of work?

First thing in the morning and last thing at night I tend to my chickens, which live on my property. At the moment they are producing 35/40 eggs a day! I love to go mountain biking and I’m also a bit of a weather geek. I have my own weather station at home and have my own website and Facebook weather page where I document the weather for the local area and community.  I also like to go out for dinner with my wife and do a lot of gardening!

Favorite food?

Italian.

Favorite  holiday destination?

Reykjavik in Iceland was amazing but if I had to pick it would be Thailand.

Your dream car?

Aston Martin DB9.

What is your favorite part of Dezrez?

The matching facility via mail-out.

and finally…why?

Because you can easily make an instant market impact via email while not having to use any paper and save money in the process.

We've been around for a while and it's been noticed. About us.

National Business Awards
Deloitte fast 50